Ignorance, stereotypes and prejudice are factors that drive antisemitism and discrimination. To further prevention and education, the SIG publishes antisemitism reports, promotes its Likrat programme and encourages the sharing of knowledge.

Jewish people and members of other minorities or particular social groups are constantly subjected to stereotypical views and prejudices. These are born from ignorance of an unfamiliar culture, religion or way of life, which can lead to misunderstandings and conflict. Such critical situations are potential breeding grounds for antisemitism, racism, rejection, discrimination and even hate. In order to tackle this problem, it is important to put in place measures for prevention and education. These are key tasks for the SIG, and the association is involved in a number of different activities and projects in this area.

Antisemitism – record and resist

An essential first step in combating antisemitism and its causes is to understand and document all aspects of the phenomenon. The basis for doing this is the Report on Antisemitism published by the SIG and the GRA. The report compiles and analyses incidents in the German-, Italian- and Romansh-speaking regions of Switzerland. It gives the association itself, politicians, educational institutions, the media and the wider public an insight into the extent of antisemitism in Switzerland and how it is changing. In its analysis of the incidents, the report applies the definition of antisemitism provided by the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance IHRA. The SIG actively encourages this definition to be recognized and used more widely, as it allows the phenomenon of antisemitism to be recorded and compared consistently and systematically.

In terms of criminal proceedings, the anti-racism norm (Article 261bis of the Swiss Criminal Code) has, since 1994, provided a means to take cases of antisemitism and racism to court. The association itself takes legal action against offenders and regularly reports offences to the police. The SIG participates in relevant bodies such as the Federal Commission against Racism, undertakes public relations work and, in particular, is active on a political level, lobbying for measures to combat, prevent and inform about antisemitism and racism.

Likrat – dialogue and education

Prejudice can often arise through lack of knowledge. Especially among younger age groups, knowledge about and direct contact with Jewish people can counter and prevent the emergence of antisemitic prejudices and ideas. This prompted the SIG to launch its Likrat project in 2002 to promote dialogue and understanding. Meetings and dialogue between Jewish and non-Jewish people are intended to promote mutual understanding, highlight what we have in common and break down antisemitic and racist prejudices and stereotypes. Specially trained young Jewish people known as Likratinas and Likratinos visit schools to talk about the Jewish religion as well as their own personal religious and cultural experiences. Likrat Public is a spin-off launched in 2015 to focus on companies, organizations and the adult population more generally.

Sharing knowledge

For many, Jewish people and therefore their culture, religion and history, are unfamiliar. The SIG engages in a wide range of activities aimed at remedying this lack of knowledge. The association regularly works with educational and research establishments to help develop and produce teaching materials, research and displays on topics including Jewish culture and history, the Shoah and antisemitism. The association also uses its public relations and media work to share and reinforce knowledge of these subjects among the population. In its role as a knowledge platform, the SIG provides information and a series of publications on topics such as Jewish religion, culture and history, and the Shoah. It also offers resources for teachers and schools. Finally, preserving and increasing the visibility of the Jewish cultural heritage in Switzerland is another key concern of the SIG.

Report on Antisemitism 2021 by the SIG and the GRA

The SIG and GRA Report on Antisemitism compiles and analyses the occurrence of antisemitic incidents in the German-, Italian- and Romansh-speaking regions of Switzerland.

More
Reports on Antisemitism and Racism

A number of reports relevant to Switzerland are published on the subjects of antisemitism and racism and on associated attitudes and incidents.

More
Report an Antisemitic Incident

Have you experienced or observed any antisemitic incident? If so, please report this to the SIG.

More
Likrat

The SIG’s dialogue and education project enables real-life encounters with Judaism and strives to reduce prejudices and stereotype thinking.

More
Knowledge

The SIG maintains a knowledge platform with information on a variety of topics related to Judaism as well as offers for schools.

More

Subscribe to SIG News now

This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

 

This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

 

Your cookie preferences have been saved.

Ignorance, stéréotypes et préjugés, tels sont les moteurs de l’antisémitisme et de la discrimination. Pour la prévention et la sensibilisation, la FSCI met en œuvre le Rapport sur l’antisémitisme, le programme Likrat ou le transfert de connaissances.

Les personnes juives et autres ressortissants de minorités ou de groupes déterminés de la société sont fréquemment exposés à des représentations et des préjugés stéréotypés, souvent motivés par une méconnaissance des autres cultures, religions ou modes de vie, ainsi qu’à des malentendus en découlant et pouvant conduire à des conflits. De cet amalgame risquent de naître des manifestations d’antisémitisme, de racisme, de rejet, de discrimination, voire de haine. Pour faire face à cette problématique sont à prendre des mesures de prévention et de sensibilisation se trouvant au cœur même de l’activité associative de la FSCI. Telle est la raison pour laquelle elle s’engage sur ce terrain en déployant différents moyens et projets.

Antisémitisme – recenser et combattre

Pour combattre l’antisémitisme et ses causes, il est important de comprendre ce phénomène et d’en prendre la mesure en se fondant sur le Rapport sur l’antisémitisme que publient chaque année la FSCI et la GRA. Rassemblant et analysant les incidents survenus en Suisse de langue allemande, italienne et rhéto-romane, le Rapport sur l’antisémitisme permet à l’association elle-même, à la sphère politique, aux institutions éducatives, aux médias et, partant, à la population de se faire une idée de la situation et du développement de l’antisémitisme existant en Suisse. Le rapport utilise pour l’appréciation des incidents la définition de l’antisémitisme de l’Alliance internationale pour la mémoire de l’Holocauste IHRA. Cette définition permettant un recensement et une comparabilité systématiques du phénomène qu’est l’antisémitisme, l’association continue d’exiger qu’elle soit encore plus largement reconnue et appliquée.

La norme pénale antiraciste (art. 261bis CP) constitue depuis 1994 un instrument permettant de poursuivre en justice les actes publics d’antisémitisme et de racisme. Intentant elle-même des actions en justice contre les contrevenantes et les contrevenants, la FSCI dénonce régulièrement des infractions à la norme pénale. Intervenant auprès d’instances telles que la Commission fédérale contre le racisme CFR, actionnant ses relations publiques et agissant surtout au plan politique, elle exige que soient prises des mesures de lutte, de prévention et de transfert de connaissances.

Programme de dialogue et de sensibilisation Likrat

Les préjugés naissant souvent d’un manque de connaissances, la sensibilisation et les contacts directs avec des juives et des juifs constituent, surtout chez les jeunes, un moyen particulièrement efficace d’empêcher ou de freiner l’apparition de préjugés et de représentations antisémites. C’est ce qui a incité la FSCI à lancer en 2002 son projet de dialogue et de sensibilisation Likrat. Faisant se rencontrer et dialoguer des personnes juives et non juives, il a vocation à favoriser la compréhension réciproque, à souligner les points communs et à faire reculer les préjugés et les stéréotypes antisémites et racistes. Des Likratinos et des Likratinas se rendent à cet effet dans les classes d’école qui le souhaitent et y parlent du judaïsme en tant que religion ainsi que de leur propre vie religieuse et culturelle. Avec Likrat Public en a été lancé en 2015 un dérivé s’adressant aux entreprises, aux organisations et, d’une manière générale, aux adultes.

Transfert de connaissances

Beaucoup de gens ignorent tout des juives et des juifs et, surtout, de leur culture, de leur religion et de leur histoire. Pour combler ce manque de connaissances, la FSCI s’engage dans les domaines les plus divers. Elle travaille régulièrement avec des institutions de formation et de savoir, ceci dans le but de réaliser du matériel didactique et d’encourager des recherches ou des expositions ayant pour thème la culture et l’histoire juives, la Shoah ou l’antisémitisme. Elle met également à profit ses relations publiques et son travail médiatique pour diffuser et renforcer dans la population la connaissance de ces thématiques. En sa qualité de plateforme de savoirs, la FSCI produit elle-même des informations ainsi qu’une collection traitant de thèmes tels que la culture et l’histoire juives ou la Shoah. Elle propose également des offres s’adressant au personnel enseignant et concernant l’enseignement. Au nombre des démarches fondamentales de la FSCI figure aussi, pour être complet, celle de donner en Suisse de la visibilité à l’héritage culturel juif.

Rapport sur l’antisémitisme 2021 de la FSCI et de la GRA

Le rapport sur l’antisémitisme de la FSCI et de la GRA répertorie et analyse les incidents antisémites survenus en Suisse alémanique, italienne et rhéto-romane.

Lire la suite
Rapports sur l’antisémitisme et le racisme

Pour la Suisse existent plusieurs rapports pertinents sur l’antisémitisme et le racisme ainsi que sur les attitudes et les incidents antisémites.

Lire la suite
Signaler un incident antisémite

Avez-vous été victime ou témoin d’un incident antisémite ? Si tel est le cas, signalez- le à l’antenne de la FSCI.

Lire la suite
Likrat

Le projet de dialogue et de sensibilisation de la FSCI donne lieu à des rencontres vivantes avec le judaïsme et s’oppose aux préjugés et aux stéréotypes.

Lire la suite
Savoir

La FSCI dirige une plateforme de savoir proposant des informations sur diverses thématiques en lien avec le judaïsme ainsi que des fiches didactiques pour la classe.

Lire la suite

Abonnez-vous maintenant aux News FSCI

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de garantir le meilleur service possible aux utilisatrices et utilisateurs.

En font partie notamment des cookies essentiels au fonctionnement du site ainsi que d’autres cookies dont le but est d’établir des statistiques anonymisées, des paramètres de confort ou d’afficher des contenus personnalisés. Vous pouvez décider vous-même des catégories que vous souhaitez autoriser. Merci de noter qu’en fonction des paramètres sélectionnés, certaines fonctionnalités du site vous seront ou non accessibles.

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin de garantir le meilleur service possible aux utilisatrices et utilisateurs.

En font partie notamment des cookies essentiels au fonctionnement du site ainsi que d’autres cookies dont le but est d’établir des statistiques anonymisées, des paramètres de confort ou d’afficher des contenus personnalisés. Vous pouvez décider vous-même des catégories que vous souhaitez autoriser. Merci de noter qu’en fonction des paramètres sélectionnés, certaines fonctionnalités du site vous seront ou non accessibles.

Vos paramètres de cookies ont été enregistrés.